Time for a Career Change?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Alex in New York, New York

23 months ago

I've been a graphic designer for over 13 years now, and I've grown quite dishearten with my career as I've never made it to the Art Director level. Recently, I started throwing around the idea of a career change. I've been at my current job for 5 years, working in the Creative Services department of a medical company. For the past two years, I've been sending out resumes without a single reply. After speaking with my boss recently, there's no prospect for me to get a promotion to Art Director at my current job. It's mainly because the position doesn't exist.

Over the past year I've also been freelancing to rescue my creativity from atrophy, learn new software and further build my portfolio. However, freelancing is getting a bit tiring as I feel I'm working 2 jobs now. I'm proficient in Web Design, Print Design and Photography. I don't believe I suck at what I do, but the fact that I can't land an interview has me starting to believe that.

I've been thinking about a career change lately, but I don't know how practical it is in this economy, or how to go about it. Graphic Design has long been my passion, and I don't want to quit, but I'm in need of change. I'm quite proficient in computers and I can trouble shoot and solve most any hardware, software, or network issue. In fact, the IT Techs at work have even asked me for computer advice, and I've solved several of their pending issues since I've been working here. The problems with pursuing a computer career is that I don't have any formal training beyond the two years of CS I took in College before switching to Graphic Design. I never found my lover for Computer Programming as I did with Graphic Design. Should I switch careers? Do I need to go back to school for a IT Tech / Help Desk job, or am I just a few certifications away? Any advice would be greatly welcomed.