Trying to choose a career?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 63)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Jay in Roselle, New Jersey

24 months ago

In May, I graduated with my bachelors in psychology, but I don’t want a career in that field. I really don’t have any real work experience except for a summer temp job I did in a warehouse 3 years ago. I don’t have a passion for anything so it’s hard to think of a career. I do want to make a lot of money, so I’ve thought about a career in finance, but I’m horrible at accounting and statistics (I failed both courses in college).

I’ve also considered management and human resources, but I cannot find any entry level jobs in those fields. I’ve even applied for trainee programs in different fields, but I never hear back. Any ideas as to what I should do?

Also, I'd like to know if it's possible to have a job in business or finance when you're horrible at math (accounting, statistics, calculus) because I am interested in hedge funds and investments. I want to relocate and am willing to move anywhere in the US for a position. I'm really lost, and in a couple months, I have to start paying back my student loans.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Goneoffeverything in Virginia

24 months ago

I would say try to get a job doing anything right now. I know it sounds dumb, but it is what it is. I am in the same boat- stuck between a rock and hard place and I have a tendency to pick up and drop interests and passions so yea its crazy.

Maybe apply as a bank/credit union teller? Hotel jobs? Jobs with the city government? I'm just listing. Whatever you do, don't rely on a temp agency to help you. I mean use them as a resource, but yea...its tough out here. My move now is to make money doing whatever and then try to move on to some bigger job or start my own business (may be a while before the business thing takes off, but hey?)