miserable at work with no hope

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

joe in Montclair, New Jersey

25 months ago

i'm currently working a job where the writing has been on the wall for a few years that i'm getting laid off and now it seems to have increased. I've tried applying for over 800 jobs and I've had 2 interviews and 1 offer which I turned down for personal reasons. Lately, i've had recruiters call, do a phone screen and then thats it, I never hear back. I'm miserable at work, but at the same time, I need to hold onto this job because nothing is out there. I feel like i'm being slowly squeezed out and that a layoff is coming soon. I just want to know how bad is out there for everyone else?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

Dani in Middletown, Delaware

25 months ago

That's got to be terrifying. I graduated from school 2 years ago and haven't been able to find work. I feel like part of it is my fault. I should have "networked" more in school and done more internships. Still, I have some work experience and a decent skill set, but I can't get in anywhere. Not as an administrative assistant (i.e. secretary), not as a bank teller, not as a $10/hour rep in a call center. I work in retail part-time and I don't know how much more I can take. When customers aren't pissing me off, management is and the pay is terrible. When I get decent hours, I can make maybe $800 a month at most. My student loan payments are $500 a month...

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Parafreegal in Chicago, Illinois

25 months ago

I was in a similar situation, but I had more years in than you do. We all knew the end was coming for a couple years before it did too. Some people left for other jobs. Others were laid off. It wasn't the best environment to work in due to the constant uncertainty.