3rd Interview but Overqualified

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Garica21 in Corpus Christi, Texas

10 months ago

I have a B.S. degree in Chemistry and an M.S. degree in Chemical Engineering with a minor in Chemistry.

I had a 2nd job interview almost 2 weeks ago which lasted 4 hours as a Process Technician. The job requires a 2 year degree. I'm overqualified for that job, but seeing as I have no industrial experience and met and surpassed the qualifications they asked for I went ahead and applied for the position to get my foot in the door. However, at the same time they mentioned they were also interviewing for a job as an Entry Level Process Engineer. I let them know I didn't know they were accepting applications for that job so I didn't apply, but was interested in either position. After my interview on a Wednesday they called me the following Tuesday saying they were going to send me a job offer the next day for the Process Tech position - which they never did. Then on Thursday they called and said they were still working out the details and I should have it by Friday. Come Friday...nothing. They just called today (Monday) and want me to go back in to talk with the Technical Director. The HR administrator said its not an interview, but I'm pretty sure it is. I know he's going to tell me I'm overqualified for the Process Technician job. Can this be a sign that they are considering me for the Process Engineering position as well? What should I expect out of this 3rd interview?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Almost Suicidal in Houston, Texas

10 months ago

Hard to tell, really. Go in with an open mind, and accept any job they offer you. A foot in the door is way better than sitting in front of the computer all day looking for a job.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Riot in Massachusetts

10 months ago