How To Identify Contact Person?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Unhappily Employed in West Haven, Connecticut

38 months ago

I am working with a career coach who insists that resumes and cover letters should be sent directly to the person who will do the hiring. This makes sense of course, except that most online job postings fail to provide this information, asking you to instead upload the resume and type the letter into a dialog box without any indication of who will see it.

My coach has advised me to seek company personnel info online and then make a phone call to subtly determine which person to contact. This has me extremely anxious, as I've never done anything like this before.

Is there anyone here who has had success with this technique, and can you give me some pointers? I'm on the verge of applying in the next few days so I'm expected to get this information quite soon. Thanks.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Bluetea in Texas

38 months ago

Unhappily Employed in West Haven, Connecticut said: I am working with a career coach who insists that resumes and cover letters should be sent directly to the person who will do the hiring. This makes sense of course, except that most online job postings fail to provide this information, asking you to instead upload the resume and type the letter into a dialog box without any indication of who will see it.

My coach has advised me to seek company personnel info online and then make a phone call to subtly determine which person to contact. This has me extremely anxious, as I've never done anything like this before.

Is there anyone here who has had success with this technique, and can you give me some pointers? I'm on the verge of applying in the next few days so I'm expected to get this information quite soon. Thanks.

Why do you think most online job postings fail to provide this information?