Interview follow up

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 118)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

Dave in Moline, Illinois

78 months ago

Call the Lead person who conducted the interview. Unless they specifically told you to e-mail, NEVER correspond by e-mail. When an HR person sees an e-mail from an address that they don't know, odds are high they'll delete it because it's either spam, or e-mail that may corrupt their system with a virus once it's opened.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (18) / No (12) Reply - Report abuse

Sreenidhi Krishnamoorthy in Cincinnati, Ohio

78 months ago

Thanks Dave for your suggestion. I shall inform you when my final job offer decision arrives

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Bosco in Orlando, Florida

78 months ago

I interview and hire people for a living and have been doing it for many years. I am also a member of several Recruitment Associations and have frequent contact with Recruiters in other industries.

That being said, myself and other Recruiters feel that there is nothing wrong with either emailing or following up after thank-you letters. Let me say this though: it must be done in a professional manner. Like Dave said, you should stick to contacting one person such as the lead interviewer. When the interviewers get together and they discover you have been contacting everyone, that could negatively affect you. Frequency is also important. If I tell a candidate that it will be 1 month, I would not think negatively of them if they sent me a brief email after 2 to 3 weeks to check in. Once a week would be on the creepy side.

Like the previous poster stated, appearing too anxious could hurt your chances. Also, I agree with moving on if you never get a reply. There are too many good companies out there who should let you know either way.