Sent out 250+ applications

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (16)

clingingtohope in Garden City, Michigan

41 months ago

I have sent out 250 or more applications over the last week or so. I had three interviews so far in my job search, one was a friend of mine, one was the first job I applied to, and one was from my apps submitted on Monster, CareerBuilder, Cragislist and Indeed. So far the only calls/emails I get are from "scam" jobs and marketing type companies who train people for sales (commission only) and would take any warm body.

I sent out 20-50 a day and I am getting absolutely nothing back. I am well qualified for most of the positions.

I have written cover letters for some (mostly those that ask for it). Should I always include a cover letter? Does this help? Any other tips? I am pretty much looking for something admin/desk/clerk or driving of some sort. I have lots of customer service background, sales, and real estate experience. What am I doing wrong?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Unemployed Paralegal in Denver, Colorado

41 months ago

clingingtohope in Garden City, Michigan said: I have written cover letters for some (mostly those that ask for it). Should I always include a cover letter? Does this help?
IMO you should always include a cover letter. Just because one is not asked for doesn't mean you don't include it. Your cover letters don't need to be long; three or four paragraphs of three or four tightly written sentences each should do it. Make sure they are pristine,

Probably you're not doing anything wrong. It's just tough getting jobs these days.

Bluetea in Texas

41 months ago