Would you work for $10 an hour?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 138)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

FS in Salem, Massachusetts

56 months ago

I'd work for free right now based upon certain conditions. I've had my resume sit in databases with 0 calls from 3 agencies, 1 call from another agency and little interest because I was overqualified 3 times from another agency. I was told 3 times by one recruiter to network with relatives, friends, co-workers from my last employer, alma mater groups (I graduated college in 1993, Linkedin etc. Also was told being unemployed for more than 6 months will hurt me because their clients don't want that. Does she think I'm stupid? I told her if have nothing in 11 months, you know what, stop looking. Your not making money off of me. Also her attitude was like "I'm sorry, its the economy, we have nothing for you, sorry, you should network, blah, blah, blah. This is the only place I can complain, recruiters don't want to hear it, relatives don't want to hear it, unemployment office doesn't want to hear it. So yes I would work for $10 per hour.

I would work for free for 3 months if its related to my field and whoever I report would be a reference for 2 years, supervisor and personal reference whatever its called. So I can add something to my resume. No one showed me how so far. I'll just check with big companies around Boston, MA. If there too busy to read the cover letter then its their loss I guess.

Recruiters and staffing agencies were effective until 2006 for me. After that their attitude and the overall economy have ruined my opinion of recruiters for now. What I described earlier, not returning calls and over posting jobs are the main reasons.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (54) / No (16) Reply - Report abuse

Nanlisa in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania

56 months ago