How to explain a legitimate employment gap in a resume

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 72)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Ellie in Harvey, Illinois

50 months ago

Hi, I graduated from college in 2006 and decided to take a little time off after school after I got cold feet about going to law school (4 years later, I am certain I do not want to go). I dragged my feet a little because I did not do internships while in college and was not very active and I became nervous about getting a job (I also have extreme performance anxiety about writing a resume to the point where I practically have a panic attack when I try to write one). During this time my mother was diagnosed with ovarian cancer which eventually spread to her brain. With my mom becoming increasingly debilitated and helpless, it got to the point where she really needed someone to take care of her constantly, and I became her unpaid caretaker. My mother needed me, and the economy had crumbled, especially in my area, and I stopped even thinking about trying to get a real job. After a long and painful decline, my mother passed away at the end of April and I am just starting to pick up the pieces. I am now in the position where I am basically starting out and yet am four years out of college, and I am getting really scared because I see no prospect for financial independence. I don't even know what field to look in, I just have to have some honest work.