How to mention this in a resume

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Juan in Irving, Texas

26 months ago

I am a new Project manager and just finished up with a project. I am in the process of adding details of this last project to my Resume, but I am having a hard time describing something that happened in the project.

I had a team member who was not playing nice with the rest of the team and was driving down the productivity of the rest of the team. I had to step in and smooth things over with him and the rest of the team. I also moved his tasks around and put him on tasks that were not in the critical path of the project. By doing this I made sure that my schedule did not take a hit because of personnel issues in the group.

How do I say the above, in one bullet point in a Resume. Please help.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Unix Brat in Asheville, North Carolina

26 months ago

Hi Juan. First off, congratulations on leading a project that stayed on schedule. You handled potential disaster with resourcefulness.

Regarding the resume' bullet point...if it were me, in addition to stating the key deliverable, I would point out my ability to identify problems early on, re-evaluate resource allocation, make decisions, and carry them through.

Mentioning anything whatsoever about a problematic team member could turn into a CLM.

Aka "Career Limiting Move."

Juan in Irving, Texas

26 months ago

Thanks. Very well put.

A follow up for you. So you wouldn't even mention this in an interview? For ex. If the hiring manager asks something like "what do you mean by re-evaluate resource allocation in your résumé?"

Should I just say that the team member was not capable of performing the assigned tasks. And that's why I re-allocated him to another task? Or should I say this was a problematic team member in an interview setting?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse