Advice for landing an Accounting Job as a New Grad with No Experience

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

Fenrir in Los Angeles, California

25 months ago

I've had my resume reviewed by 3 career advisers already, and my cover letter by one. I have a Master's in Accounting from a reputable school and for the past month I've only been able to land 3 interviews - 2 of which never called back and one I just had a few days ago so its too soon to say - despite sending out 100+ applications, even to out of state accounting firms.

Websites I use: Roberhalf(useless), Appleone(more useless), Monster(somewhat useful), careerbuilder (most useless), Linkedin (somewhat useful), Indeed (somewhat useful), and Accounting firm websites for CA and other states.

So any ideas that could help me improve my job search?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (34) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

Jury 14 in Hartford, Connecticut

25 months ago

Go out into the world and look and see if there are any opportunities there. Apply directly at company websites that interest you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse

Boston in Pawtucket, Rhode Island

25 months ago

In my job search, i found most jobs through indeed. I've gotten interviews on craigslist but you have to wade through scams sometimes. Temp agencies can be generally useless and a waste of time especially when you have no experience but I did get some jobs from them so they are worth a try. I had some luck with Account temps but I would not rely on them solely during my job hunt.
I've found this blog to be helpful with tips for your cover letter and resume. Askamanager.com
Good luck to you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

MICk20z3 in Orland Park, Illinois

20 months ago