Advice for a non-accounting major.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 60 of 60)
Page:  « Previous   1  2   

AM1982 in Marietta, Georgia

44 months ago

Wow lots of variety here. Let me add my vibrant story to this mix.

When I graduated from High School, due to circumstances outside of my control I had limited choices for College. I got a BFA in Graphic Design. I had a high GPA in high school, I had scholarships, AP classes and graduated with honors. It wasn't my grades or money that was the problem but another variable. I have really worked this degree and have worked my way up to project/program management in IT industry (not bad for a BFA). I will have my PMP for PMI soon.

But I really want a "Smart" degree.I consider math and science "smart" degrees. I am a smart girl and I want my education to reflect that. And I am ready for new and challenging work. I really don't want to be a CPA but work more in the Financial industry. They all require a bachelors in accounting or finance with a CPA or CFA, ect..

Do I go back to school for a Bachelors in Accounting & finance? Or

Do I get a Post-baccalaureate certification in accounting (thinking about this online program: extension.berkeley.edu/subject/accounting.html).
Will a post-bacc accounting course work+ a Non-relevant bachelors degree be enough for a CPA in GA?
How will employers look upon this?

So would a BFA in Graphic Design + Post-Baccalaureate certification in accounting + CPA or CFA --- be enough to land a decent paying job, while I go to Grad school for MPA/MAcc/MSFIN/MSF?

I really WANT THIS! Is there someone I can talk to about this? Anyone have any insights?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Karena in Atlanta, Georgia

43 months ago