Does a career in accounting require exceptional math aptitude?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

mal108 in Round Rock, Texas

66 months ago

Need help from anyone who is an accountant or in a related financial services profession.

I am an undergrad marketing major looking to make a career change. I applied for a Masters of Accountancy program and was accepted, however the program didn't require the submission of GMAT/GRE scores.

I was already scheduled to take the test, so went ahead and took it. My quantitative scores were very disappointing (in spite of sufficient prep). I've always considered myself at least equally balanced between math & verbal abilities and my gpa reflects as much.

Am I doomed as an accountant if I'm not a math superstar? Thanks much for the input...

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Numbrluvr in San Jacinto, California

64 months ago

mal108 in Round Rock, Texas said: Need help from anyone who is an accountant or in a related financial services profession.

I am an undergrad marketing major looking to make a career change. I applied for a Masters of Accountancy program and was accepted, however the program didn't require the submission of GMAT/GRE scores.

I was already scheduled to take the test, so went ahead and took it. My quantitative scores were very disappointing (in spite of sufficient prep). I've always considered myself at least equally balanced between math & verbal abilities and my gpa reflects as much.

Am I doomed as an accountant if I'm not a math superstar? Thanks much for the input...