History Major trying to begin a career in Accounting.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

John in Rosemead, California

61 months ago

I have a Bachelors in History (worst decision of my life) with a GPA of 3.6 and have been working in escrow for the last 5 years but want to begin a career in Accounting. I'm looking into getting a degree but want to get some feedback on whether I should pursue a Second Bachelors Degree in accounting or try to get into a Masters Accounting Program? I have no accounting experience and want to go with whatever degree will take me furthest on a good career path.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (12) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

vicque fassinger in Cleveland, Ohio

61 months ago

A baccalaureate in ANY field should not be regretted - it's something no one can take away from you and puts you one step closer to securing a position than a person with no degree.

If you can land acceptance into a Master's program without having to take too many prerequisite math courses, I would pursue that. A Master's typically pays more (and can lead to other positions and promotions) than a Bachelor's.

What made you select History initially? An interest? (The fact that you earned a 3.6 shows you must have enjoyed at least some of the courses!) Were you planning to go to law school or thinking of teaching?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

John in Rosemead, California

61 months ago

Hi Vicque,
I picked History because I liked the subject but really didnt know what I wanted to do with it. I had vague ideas about being a curator or teaching that didn't really work out. I regret History because of my lack of career options, especially in this market. Now I just want a career path where I can acquire marketable skills and have a stable job with good pay and a good working enviornment. Accounting seems to give you that.