OUT OF WORK CPA MBA-the mom

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

JFLOYD3619@AOL.COM in Millersville, Maryland

35 months ago

HI THERE:

I am a CPA MBA with a 16 years with one company as a controller, then took 6 years off to stay home with the children. Went back to work as a Director of Finance for 2 years for a large non profit. Took about 10 months off to wrap up a divorce. Now have been unable to find a job, except some short term temp jobs.

Technical skills are pretty up to date, but can't seem to compete. I was making too much money (6 figures) and now can't get a job even as a temp. Should I take some courses and become a technical person? Like Microsoft certified?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Bean counter in San Jose, California

33 months ago

With your credentials and experience, you must keep trying to look for the same level of jobs in your field. On the employment gap, one has to be creative in this horrible job market. A finance director was struggling to explain years' unemployment and was asking a agency recruiter for help in an accounting support group meeting , next thing I saw in linkedin is this:

-Improve financial management processes for small companies and self-employed individuals.
-Certified to prepare tax returns in CA.

Forget about MS certificate, it won't help, the IT field is dead, with all the outsourcing and oversupply here in US.
Should consider taking tax class to prepare tax returns as a side job in the beginning while continue looking for a normal job. Suggested this route to my ex many years ago and he's been doing very well, actually quit his good paying finance job and started his own company doing accounting and tax returns. Don't lower your expectation ... with your CPA/MBA!

Hope this helps.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Bean counter in San Jose, California

33 months ago