Question on getting an accounting degree

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Daniel Ting in Arcadia, California

76 months ago

Hi, my name is Dan and I just graduated fall quarter of 2009 at UCLA with a degree in Sociology. However, I am interested in pursuing for an accounting degree and hopefully pass the CPA exam in the future. But I am not sure what is the best way to do it. Is it better to go to school such as CSU Fullerton or CSULA to get a second bachelors in accounting since I fulfilled most requirements at UCLA already? Or is it better to apply to graduate school and pursue for Masters in accounting ( My GPA isn't that high) ? Which way will help me reach my goal of getting my CPA in the near future? Thank you for your time!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

John in Rosemead, California

65 months ago

Hi Dan, I'm in the same situation as you are. I have a bachelors in History with no accounting experience and am also debating whether to get a second bachelors or a masters in accounting. I was thinking about UCLA's Accounting certificate program but I think I feel safer going with an actual degree. I want to make sure the time and money I invest in a accounting degree is going to pay off. Let me know if you've decided on what you're going to do. my contact is apollo2177 at hot***l.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Daniel in Los Angeles, California

65 months ago