need advise

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

kiea in East Orange, New Jersey

87 months ago

I am currently attending college I am trying to obtain my AAS in Accounting. After I graduated I want to get my bachelors degree, but I not sure if I should major in Accounting or finance. I read a lot of comments on accounting and I notice it is hard for a new grad to get a job in this field. So maybe I should major in finance and see where it takes me. Can anyone give me advise.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

MRivera in Port Saint Lucie, Florida

87 months ago

Hello, I think that now days in all industries it is hard to get a job. Finance in one hand could lead you to a wide variety of opportunities as i think the curriculm is similar to business major. On the other hand, accounting could land you on a more specific job such as accountant for a company. It all depends what you want to be doing after graduation. I have a degree on business and now i am working on my master in accountancy. This way I was able to learn more about the functions of a company and now i am concentrating on a specific field.
Good Luck!!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

James Sweeney in Long Beach, California

87 months ago

I have found that there is a hiring mentality in accounting which has made it a specialty occupation. While your training is valuable, the hiring HR departments think in terms of "industry". While I could find no training for a "property management accountant" at school, the job leads are looking for a specific "industry".

in your job search, you will see a need for a specific accounting package. In the minds of HR, the software does the accounting, and the accountant must know the software. Should you be fortunate to learn two or three accounting packages, you will understand that the software is similar, ie does reporting, does A/P and A/R, etc.