Administrative Assistant

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (101 to 150 of 176)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Mariet in Staten Island, New York

48 months ago

As long as you are still employed, I would say you are one of the lucky ones. In this economy it is very hard to get an Administrative Assistant job that pays a decent salary.

I used to be an Office Manager/Admin Assistant and I often felt the same way you do.

Now I long for the old days, when at least I knew where my next pay check was coming from.

Who cares if they talk to you? Less trouble for you!
It's all in how you look at it. I know it can sometimes be frustrating because I worked a 4 month assignment (THE ONES THAT LAID ME OFF) with a group of salesmen. All they did was talk about sports all day. Once in a while they would talk about politics.
At least they said good morning to me, but that was the extent of it.

The job I had before that was as an Office Manager for 20 years. The staff talked to me so much, I used to get a headache. You couldn't even get your work done with all the endless chit chat.

I guess I did prefer being included and acknowledged by the staff.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

marichelle in Ewa Beach, Hawaii

48 months ago

Verina in Brooklyn, New York said: Why every one is calling themselves Administrative Assistant,
from a HS degree to a Masters degree in Administration. We don't have secretaries any more.
Why go to college to be an AA, when you can have a HS diploma only and the range of salaries are 23000 to 60000 and more per yr.
If you are over 50 years of age, it is very hard to get an AA position if even you have a BA degree, WHAT IS GOING-ON.