Goal Question During An Interview

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 82 of 82)
Page:  « Previous   1  2   

Sharie in Bowling Green, Kentucky

66 months ago

Kareny@comcast.net in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania said: I think that reply was the best one, too. I am new to this group. I'm actually a Paralegal that can't find work in the Philadelphia personal injury field. I also have a BS in Marketing Management, but when I went to school, they didn't have the internet. It seems I can't find anything with my marketing degree because all the jobs have something to do with search engine optimization, CRM, email traffic. So now I am trying to apply for an Administrative Assistant job. I'm not even sure exactly what is expected of an administrative or Executive Assistant so anyone who can give me advice how to better make travel arrangements besides looking for flights on the internet or calling a travel agency, please respond. Anybody have any ideas what else I can go into. Oh, and how much do Admin. or Executive Assistants make?

Be sure you have excellent skills in excel, word, powerpoint, etc. Those skills are expected for an AA in just about any company. Salaries are different depending where you live and work experience. I was an AA in Wilmington, DE, about 10 years ago and made $38,000 after 2 years. Try applying for AA positions within a sales/marketing department. Event planners, PR and advertising agencies are greatful to have an AA with a marketing background. Your legal background would be perfect for a law office, legal department, or even real estate. Be honest when you are trying something new in your AA job. If you tell the company travel agent you have never made arrangements before, or are unfamiliar with setting up a profile or using the company software, they are more than happy to assist. Just have a "can do" attitude with your boss and take on new tasks with a smile. You'll do just fine! Good luck!!