Looking for a job in Healthcare Administration

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Tierra in San Diego, California

38 months ago

I am currently going to school for my Bachelor's in Healthcare Administration. I have no experience in Administration work but I am a fast learner. I have been looking for work but every company I apply for you have to have experience. Does anyone have any suggestions as to go about this? It is real frustrating trying to find a job with no experience.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (18) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Bailey in Decatur, Georgia

38 months ago

It is very hard. I have my Master's in Health Administration w/over 7 years experience in the healthcare industry and I'm still finding it difficult to move up. I have worked for health insurance companies and hospitals and I will tell you that the hospital environment is VERY political. It's not what you know--it's who you know. The insurance companies are more flexible but they tend to restructure (a.k.a lay-off) a lot so many positions have been eliminated or outsourced. My advice to you would be to NETWORK NETWORK NETWORK!
With so many people flocking to the Healthcare industry now, jobs are scarce. Also, this industry (like many others) does not give much weight to degrees because nowadays more & more people have them.

Best of luck to you and don't get discouraged!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No Reply - Report abuse

Rafael in Stockton, California

10 months ago