frustrated and need advice regarding the Administrative Assistant role

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

lostinnyc29 in New York, New York

30 months ago

Hey everyone,

I've read alot of the posts on here and you guys always give great advice. Im hoping someone on here can guide me in the right direction.

Right now I work for seven partners and their teams in an accounting firm in Manhattan. I have four years of experience and, prior to this job, I worked for two years in a corporate jewelry company. In about a year and a half I will be moving and Im trying to think of ways that will make me marketable wherever I go. Does anyone have any advice regarding this? Are there certificates I can earn that will make an employer take a chance on me?

Truthfully, I am not satisfied with my role as an administrative assistant at all. However, this may be because of the type of company I work for. Ideally, I would love to work at a company as an administrative assistant and work my way up to something else.

Thank you for the help!
~Completely lost and frustrated

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Angela in Fort Worth, Texas

13 months ago

I would advise against coming into a company and 'working your way up' from an admin role. Once a company sees you as an admin, it's hard to move to anything else. Trust me on this one. You will watch younger candidates with less or similar experience come in and make more money and trust me, that will leave you bitter and frustrated even more.