Hows the Market??

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (39)

Tom Joad in Southfield, Michigan

78 months ago

Hi there. I am currently an auto mechanic at a Ford dealership, have been for about 12 years. I am thinking of making the jump to aircraft, but before I attend classes, etc etc, I was wondering how the job market is? Nationally, I mean. Thanks for any advice you can give.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (22) / No (8) Reply - Report abuse

Bob Nemec in Loveland, Colorado

73 months ago

Do not go into aviation as a mechanic. I wasted 12 years chasing the dream-my fault. Don't be mislead by the incomes of guys with 30 years in the field, they are on "A" scale which you will never see. Aviation schools are a buisness for profit.

The only reason to go into aviation is to travel cheap. This was possible before 911 when the airlines were doing pretty well. Now, all the major airlines have hundreds if not thousands of mechanics furloughed who have recall rights before you have any chance of employment. I have 8 years seniority with United and it will likely be at least 10 to 20 years before enough people retire or die before I am recalled. ( if the union dosen't give away recall rights in a future contract). By that point, I will be retired myself. The reason is the airlines are ousourcing everything maintenance related possible.

Even if you do somehow make it to an airline be prepared for a difficult work schedule. Everthing is union and everything revolves around "seniority". Seniority determines everything from how much you make, your schedule, days off, when you can take vacation and on and on. Without many years of seniority you will work midnights, holidays, weekends, rotating schedules and otherwise miserable hours. You will be a number on a list, trated accordingly and always under threat of a layoff. There is no job security.