Dealing with difficult tenants

Comments (4)

T in Modesto, California

65 months ago

Any and all advice on this subject will be very appreciated.
I've been managing my property for 4 years. I have one tenant that challenges everything. This is a govt subsidized facility which requires annual recertification for all tenants. During the year there are many different requests for the tenants to provide information in order to be compliant. I have one tenant (thank God only one!) that scoffs at signing documents that are required for the program and for tenancy per the property management companies requirements. Protocol communication between the tenants and I is usually a written request by me to them in an envelope taped to their door. All of my tenants read these notices and follow up with the instruction. The difficult tenant I'm speaking of has always used this protocol as well, even tho still scoffing at the requests, but now has decided not to respond to any notices placed on the door and will just leave them there forever.... I had 5 envelopes on the door during a 3 week period. This tenant will not open the mailbox at the complex and only uses a PO box. I'm now posting notices on the door and mailing the copy of the notice to the PO Box as well. The tenant send me "certified mail" stating that she has not received any of my correspondence and acts as if I am ignoring "reasonable accommodation" requests that she continually bombards me with. She has an obvious mental disability, and I've always been patient and wallow through in order to get things done. My problem now is that since I can't communicate with the tenant except for mailing things to the po box, it is just a time waster, and a money waster. I really don't have the time to deal with a tenant that wants to make their own set of rules. My management company atty has written lease violations to this tenant, but the tenant pretends that she never has received them. She's forcing us to mail things "cert