PESKY TENANTS

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

mrodriguez in Tyler, Texas

84 months ago

I AM AN APARTMENT MANAGER AND SOMETIMES I HAVE TENANTS THAT THINK I HAVE NOTHING BETTER TO DO BUT SIT HERE AND LISTEN TO EVERYTHING THEY HAVE TO SAY. I CAN UNDERSTAND THAT THIER PROBABLY LONELY BUT I DO HAVE WORK TO DO AND I HAVE TRIED TELLING THEM THAT I AM BUSY RIGHT KNOW DOES ANYBODY HAVE ANY OTHER IDEAS

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

CHARLEY in New Kensington, Pennsylvania

83 months ago

That is part of your job. I understand busy. 100 phone calls in less than 4 hours and signing 4 leases and showing 8 properties all in that same 4 hours as well as managing a staff of 5 and 15 vendors. This is with no one else but me in the office! Still the tenant will come in and want to talk. I take the time like it's all I have in the world. I give them 5 minutes and then say that I have another appointment I must get to and get up and open the door. If they hang out after the door is open, now they are being rude and I will insist that I need to attend to the next appointment.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Sudie

79 months ago

It is always the right thing to drop what you are doing and listen to your tenant. Getting along with them is much better than the alternative. My tenants appreciate me, and if I dont get my work done that day, well it's always there tomorrow. No worries. Besides, you get a lot of free food and nice "thank you" cards from tenants that know you care about them. Much easier to get them to comply as well, you have to show your human side... cant be a Hitler, it doesnt work.

lisa in Kansas City, Missouri

79 months ago