What have I got myself into?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

jlynnfrmwf in Wichita Falls, Texas

76 months ago

I recently became apt manager in a complex I worked as a leasing agent a few years ago. Like everyone, I thought the job seemed simple enuf. There are 272 units with one unit being used as storage. Since I came back EVERYTHING has changed! We have a contract with a nearby college and to make a long story short we take in foreign students and put them up in an apt with discounted monthly rent. It is one big headache! They get away with murder! Most of them that just came back from thier countries in August didnt even have to pay for August rent...they dont pay deposits...they dont have to clean carpets or replace drip pans before they leave. They complain for the smallest things in the apt but at the same time dont comply with specific instructions I give them...deal breakers for the common public. Like electric provider info. Any other tennant wouldnt be able to even move in before that was provided but I have a stack of leases from students that I dont have thier info. The cordinator from the college gets everything he wants because hes bringing in so much revenue. So if one of his students complains enough they could get carpet replaced when there is nothing wrong with the pre existing carpet for example.
It looks good on paper bc we have 100% occupancy but they are wearing us out...the mail man, the maint guys, our corperate, ME,lol. The one thing that keeps me hanging in is we also have a fairly new regional manager who was brought in to save $ for our company...HES WONDERFUL and gets stuff done. Ive over heard the direction hes trying to get the company and Im hopeful if they give him pull...if not we will be an over glorified dorm before too long. Please help!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

T

76 months ago