Becoming a Freelancer

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

KA76 in Denver, Colorado

70 months ago

So, I have about 10 years of experience in the private security/loss prevention field, and I'm looking into what it would take to provide some freelance security for meetings, parties, and other events. Not looking to start a company, etc., but I want to be able to legally provide security services, while armed (concealed), and receive payment.

Does anybody know what kind of certification and licensing I'd need? Do I need to be bonded/insured? What steps do I need to take?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

895 in Dundee, Michigan

69 months ago

Some states require you to have a security or investigators license. Very few states will allow you to do what you are wanting to do. I have been working law enforcement, security and investigations for 22+ years. Most states require you to have a degree and at least 2 years of work related experience as a supervisor or above.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

sunman in Tulsa, Oklahoma

27 months ago

KA76 in Denver, Colorado said: So, I have about 10 years of experience in the private security/ loss prevention field, and I'm looking into what it would take to provide some freelance security for meetings, parties, and other events . Not looking to start a company, etc., but I want to be able to legally provide security services, while armed (concealed), and receive payment.

Does anybody know what kind of certification and licensing I'd need? Do I need to be bonded/insured? What steps do I need to take?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!