Just out of Recording School Eager & No work???

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

john doe in Nashville, Tennessee

61 months ago

Welcome to the music industry.

For the last ten years (or since the original Napster) the music industry has steadily declined. I think that cd sales were down 19% overall last year.

The reason that no one is giving you a job is because they are all in fear of losing their own jobs.

To be successful in this industry you need to create your own job. I am an engineer and to stay busy I make records, do television broadcast, live sound, jingle work, radio tours etc.

You can't wait for someone to let you do anything in this industry, you need to go out and do it yourself.

I used to think that with the changing industry i.e. downloads, that I still had job security as an engineer. I figured that artists still would need to record their records but that the way that they were packaged and distributed would change. However, I have realized that in the last couple of years that it has affected my gig. Because Pro Tools has become affordable with the Mbox every artist on the planet thinks that they can record their own records. However, they don't know how to use the software and so the industry has suffered yet again. Not only did the affordability of Pro Tools put it in the hands of the few that are talented it put it in the hands of the many that are not and so the market it flooded with garbage.

I had a kid ask me if I recommended him going to a 4 year school to get a degree in recording. I told him that if he had asked me ten years ago, I would have said yes. But today I told him not to do it, that he would be working the rest of his life to make the money that he spent on his education. He thanked me and decided to go into computer science.

I don't mean to come across so negative, however it is the way that it is.