Are audio visual technician job opportunities growing or declining?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (26)

Host

Are jobs in this industry on the rise? Are there any sub-sectors that are growing?

Where are the jobs? Which places have the most audio visual technician opportunities?

Reply - Report abuse

Cathy in North Shore, New Zealand

91 months ago

Don't know about the states but here in New Zealand there is a definite shortage of experience AV techs - anyone out there fancy moving to Auckland, NZ? We deliver leading edge technology for corporate events. Find out more about us here www.stagingconnections.com

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

nic hard in Brooklyn, New York

91 months ago

I am a record engineer/producer looking to possibly move to NZ. What sort of opportunities are there. I am mostly experienced with audio, but have done a fair amount of tv and also have affiliations her in the us with common knowledge communications.

thanks

Nic Hard
nichard.com

Cathy in North Shore, New Zealand

91 months ago

We have a couple of vacancies for experienced AV techs. Email me - ctyler@stagingconnections.com - and I'll send you the ad and the job description. Cathy

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Moira Botherway in Panmure, New Zealand

89 months ago

Hi Cathy.
I am making an enquiry on behalf of my 20yr old son who is currently in Australia. He wants to become an audio visual technician but when he first looked into it end of 2005 there was no course he could do and a trainee job was like "hen's teeth"! He went and worked for Dick Smith for 16 months and is very into his computers, electronics, music etc, etc. I see there is now a course at Unitec either full time or partime, but I am very much a believer in on job training, like an apprenticeship. Do you take on trainees or can you suggest anyone to contact. Would appreciate your advice.