Varieties of Business Analysis

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

Someone in Sterling, Virginia

42 months ago

I'm a long-time software engineer repositioning into business analysis and I'm having a tricky time in my job hunt so far. I'm just curious if anybody else has experienced these things. I've noticed that every company has a different interpretation of what a business analyst does. Some demand experience with software testing tools, which implies you're going to be a part-time tester. Others want project management experience. A few are obviously just administrative assistants. That variety puts the average salary range from $25K - 90K. Okay, so obviously we have to decide which direction we want to go and only apply to those types of positions.

My biggest problem is that in my software job, I was relegated to working on legacy systems so I have never used *any* of the new tools for software development, testing, or even analysis. I never get past the phone interview (if even that far) when I admit that I tested software by pretending to be a user. I'm losing lots of opportunities because I don't have UML experience - I wrote requirements with Word and Visio. I know I can teach myself those tools, but companies are demanding demonstrated experience with them. How do you guys handle that?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Bill in Lake Ozark, Missouri

40 months ago

I had a similar background to yours when I worked as a BA 10 years ago. I pointed out to the recruiters that I had done several projects which included the BA as well as coding & testing functions.

I have also experienced companies who demand UML experience. I had to point out to these illiterate recruiters that I had performed UML activities before the term UML was invented about 20 years ago.