Are cad operator job opportunities growing or declining?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 74 of 74)
Page:  « Previous   1  2   

John in Catonsville, Maryland

24 months ago

And yes, more companies are having the engineers do their own drafting from what I've seen.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

SkiWrex in Draper, Utah

21 months ago

-I would say it all depends on the industry. AutoCAD is not a cutting edge program like it once was. It's still widely used, but today Parametric softwares are the industry norm, (Solidworks, CATIA, Pro-E, Revit etc). Drafting is evolving into more of a designer role, In college, my professors were adamant about teaching us the why and how of the design concepts behind what we were drawing so that we could grow into designers. I'm a mechanical Designer for a Medical Device company that has 4 roles for the CAD field (Drafter, SR. Drafter, Designer, SR. Designer) I started out as a Drafting Intern, with time and experience, I can get to SR. Designer with a salary of between $60,000-$90,000.
-Engineers CAN take on drafting/Design roles by designing their own stuff (If they have time), but usually their technical drawings are GARBAGE! I've seen machinists laugh engineers out of the shop because of their terrible drawings and lack of understanding basic machining principles. There is not an engineer in my company who can churn out a practical design and technical drawing as fast as I can, they usually come up with a prelim design, and then give it to me to make it work:)