Advice for a newly graduate on the pursuit of becoming a CRA?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Anh Phan in Los Angeles, California

14 months ago

I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Biology with an emphasis in genetics and have ~8 months of laboratory experience in an academic lab researching on mammalian genetics and bioinformatics. I was recently hired as a clinical laboratory assistant at a CRO 2 weeks ago and I just want to know what should be my next steps in becoming a CRA. I know I should gain at least 2 years of experience but I am not sure about the certification aspect. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Paula in Windsor, Connecticut

14 months ago

Hi Ahn,

In order to become a CRA, start by transitioning out of the lab. CRA promotions rarely come from the bench as it's hard to convince hiring managers that lab work is similar to research on real life human beings. The most important thing a CRA does is protect the rights and safety of people in research studies and you won't get that in the lab.

A clinical trial assistant (CTA) will likely be the next stepping stone before becoming a CRA. Positions are numerous for new grads at CROs.

You don't need to worry about getting certified at this point in time. Certifications are only available for people who have worked as a CRA for two years (not a CTA, not as lab assistant- the time spent in those jobs won't count)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Anh Phan in Los Angeles, California

14 months ago

Hi Paula,

I was researching and a few people talked about transitioning from a clinical lab assistant into a clinical research coordinator. So the impression I get is that I should focus on getting promoted from a clinical lab assistant to lab coordinator after having enough experience before I am qualified to become a CRA.