(Another) Entry CRA ? [Pharm Rep w BS in Biomedical Engineering]

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Vincent in Trenton, New Jersey

60 months ago

Hello All,

I am interested in becoming a CRA. I have no monitoring experience, but a BS in Biomedical Engineering. I have been in the pharmaceutical industry (sales) for the past 2 years since graduating. I am planning on taking the CKA (Core Knowledge Assesment) given by the ACRP and also attending the national conference in Tampa.

The CKA is the only legitamate certification I can find (and sit for) without having 2 years monitoring experience.

I am just writing to look for any suggestion or tips to help break in. I have been in close contact with the CRCs in the various physicians offices I visit to see if they can help.

Do you think I can somehow focus on my background and draw on parallels between a pharm sales rep and CRA (already operating independently w/o office, direct contact/communications physicians/ healthcare professionals etc...) to obtain a position or should I not go that route.

Only problem is that I don't know if I can actually take that significant of a paycut from my current position to start as a CRA. (not sure what salary is, but it can't be that great)

Thanks in Advance.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Elizabeth in Raleigh, North Carolina

60 months ago

Vincent,