Are CRAs with phase IV only experience employable?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (6)

Katie s in Leeds, United Kingdom

42 months ago

Hi everyone

Im looking for some advice and I hope you can help me out.

I have 3 years experience as a CTA on phase II-III studies when I worked for a large CRO.

Recently I started in a new CRO as a CRA.
I have been working on phase IV studies. I have gained experience in 2 different therapeutic areas where I have done site initiations and close outs and worked with training sites on EDC. I have also been responsible for recruitment drive while acting as the main point of contact for client interactions.

My problem is that as Im working on phase IV studies, I have limited monitoring experience. Monitoring requirements are generally around 10% of sites. Plus there is no IP monitoring as there is no drug - its given to patients by prescriptions.

My question is- that with this experience, am I employable as a CRA for phase II & III studies in other companies?

I would really appreciate your advice on this...

Thanks
Katie

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Natalie in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

42 months ago

Right now would be a good time to make a jump to another company that can give you the experience. Doing drug accountability is essential. You are "employable" but you will probably need to make a switch early in your career to get those skills.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

42 months ago

Thanks Natalie

Do you think a year in this role would be too long?
Do you think employers would be reluctant to employ me as CRA due to minimal actual monitoring experience and no drug accountability?

Or do you think my initiations/close outs etc etc experience will be ok?

42 months ago