MD needs advice

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

MD transition in Great Neck, New York

62 months ago

Hi guys:
I graduated medical school in 2006 and have decided that clinical medicine is not for me. I have a great deal of resarch experience and published papers and would love to work research full-time. The idea of being a CRA sounds perfect from the little that I know about it and helping move drugs through clinical trial stages is equally exciting.

Does anyone have any advice for me?
Is CRA/CRO the way to go? Are there any jobs available to me now or do I have to get certified?

Please help :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Robert in Brooklyn, New York

62 months ago

you do not need to get any sort of certification to be a CRA, however, starting off in clinical research right now as a monitor isn't the easiest industry to choose since we've been hit hard by the bad economy.

additionally, CRA is not an entry-level position- you'd have to start out as a CRC (nurse-level) or CTA to gain the expirience to hope to move up to a CRA. i doubt the low starting pay for these positions (30k) and the starting salary for CRAs (40-50k for your first year) will be very attractive to a physician.

if i were you, i would hook up with a university and use your medical degree as a PI or SI. i would also consider protocol writing or doing consult work as a medical monitor

Suchita in Calgary, Alberta

62 months ago

Yes i truly agree with Robert.U can start as a PI or Sub PI.If u want u can do some course of CRA n try for job as there r very few entry level jobs for CRA.I worked as a Entry level CRA for Clinsys in India as now since iam in canada so i upgraded.I also feel that u should try in medical writing.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

62 months ago

Thank you guys for your input.
How would I go about looking for these types of jobs?