The Master's degree- The worst $25k a CRA can spend?

Comments (4)

Senior CRA in Morrisville, North Carolina

18 months ago

I got a Master's degree a few years ago as a Senior CRA and since adding the MS to my name, I really haven't seen any returns on my investment. I keep telling myself that when it's time to get promoted into management or another role, it might give me a slight edge over another person, so maybe it'll pay off later. Of course, I gained a wealth of knowledge and soft-skills like discipline and ability to handle a career and full-time schooling, but I really hoped the degree would pay off in a new job or a raise.

Has your Master's degree paid off?

If so, I'd like to hear more from you about how you got your degree to work for you in the field of research. Also, since different countries value degrees differently, I'd be interested in knowing where you work. (For example, Canada values a highly educated workforce and every time I monitor in Canada the investigators are happy to see someone with an advanced degree, but here in the USA, the Master's degree seems to be worthless).

Bluetea in Texas

18 months ago

Senior CRA in Morrisville, North Carolina said: I got a Master's degree a few years ago as a Senior CRA and since adding the MS to my name, I really haven't seen any returns on my investment. I keep telling myself that when it's time to get promoted into management or another role, it might give me a slight edge over another person, so maybe it'll pay off later. Of course, I gained a wealth of knowledge and soft-skills like discipline and ability to handle a career and full-time schooling, but I really hoped the degree would pay off in a new job or a raise.