Tips for cmm programmer interviews.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (9)

Host

Do you have any tips to help prepare for an upcoming cmm programmer interview?

Are there common interview questions that come up again and again?

Reply - Report abuse

Douglas Santysiak in Holland, Ohio

66 months ago

I went on 2 interviews in the Michigan/Ohio area and things I was asked is about print interpretation, GD&T and demonstrating set-up and programming on a CMM using PC-Dmis. I admit it was a little nerve racking working on equipment you have never used before and having people watch over your shoulder every minute.
But with the auto industry the way it is now, especially in my area, it will be very difficult to find work. I my self have been laid off for a few months and finding CMM programming work is hard. I have been using a Mititoyo Manual machine for 18 years and a Brown & Shape Programmable machine for 2 years. The programmable ones are way better for doing more than 1 of the same piece. Make sure you have good fixturing for part layouts; I have done way too many plastic parts with no fixtures, like trying to measure a cooked noodle that should have shape to it.
Other tips for this are finding a place that you have someone to bounce ideas off of and help with the little things that can hold you up for a period of time that they may be able to help to keep you moving forward.
One last tip, always take a hourly position, if not they will have you working 12-14 hours, 7 days a week!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

saipeople in kingwood, Texas

66 months ago

Requirements Management ...

* What is your project about? What stage or phase is it currently in? What is your current role in your project?
* Explain how you manage requirements in your project?

* Where and how do you document your requirements?
* What and where are the policy statements for requirement management?