Are Telemarketing Service Agencies and Market Research Firms Disappearing?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (2)

Nanlisa in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania

85 months ago

As you know, I've been working in call centers on and off since 1983. I have worked as an outbound telemarketer, market research interviewer, telephone fundraiser, call center operator, and customer service representative.

I just lost my last job as a part-time telephone agent back in July. I had worked for a company that supplies sample (numbers to dial) to market research firms. I have tried to apply for a part-time day job as a telephone interviewer, but the companies that I've contacted are either not hiring at all, don't hire telephone interviewers, hire for night only, they've closed up, or the call centers are now out of state.

Don't get me wrong now. Prior to my last job, I worked at a market research firm for four years as a telephone interviewer, and I was a darn good one. But most of the work there was at night, and there's limited public transportation in the area after 9 o'clock at night; which is mainly why I quit.

Ditto for the telemarketing service agencies. They were a lot of telemarketing jobs around when I first got into it back in the 1980's; but now, because of the Do-Not-Call List, I think a lot of them have all since gone out of business. That includes some of the ones that I've worked at before.

I am looking for a part-time call center job, but I'm beginning to wonder if these jobs are now disappearing? I have been looking at call center jobs with other companies are not telemarekting service agencies. But I'm just wondering if anybody else has done the same thing.

Please feel free to post here and let me know.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Nanlisa in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania

85 months ago