best skill set to re-enter programming?

Comments (8)

Bob Lewiston in Trenton, New Jersey

79 months ago

I've been out of computer programming for several years and my skills are no longer current. (I used to be an applications programmer.) What does everyone think would be the best skill set to develop in order to re-enter programming as quickly as possible, and what would be the best (and most cost-effective) way to go about developing those skills? Thanks to anyone who can help me.

ML in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

72 months ago

Bob Lewiston in Trenton, New Jersey said: I've been out of computer programming for several years and my skills are no longer current. (I used to be an applications programmer.) What does everyone think would be the best skill set to develop in order to re-enter programming as quickly as possible, and what would be the best (and most cost-effective) way to go about developing those skills? Thanks to anyone who can help me.

Avoid it like the plague. Over-saturated with .NET/Java developers. If I were you, I would study ERP software such as PeopleSoft/Siebel/SAP

cincyFA in Cincinnati, Ohio

58 months ago

what I would do I would just enter" computer programmer" into the " job search" field and get the list of all the jobs available. Then I would start opening each of them and see what languages employers are looking for in candidates.

Super in Frankfort, Kentucky

57 months ago

hes just saying its oversaturated cuz he cant find a job.. its not over saturated

hamerkop in Downers Grove, Illinois

36 months ago

Hi Bob!

I am in the same situation as you - I was laided off - and I have skills and they are still applicable but not too many jobs for them so I am trying to add some new skills to my resume.