Some Advice Please

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Cory T in Queens Village, New York

91 months ago

Hello, I have a couple questions that I'd really love some help answering. I'm currently a freshmen in college and I want to pursue a career as an editor (preferably for a publishing company or a magazine). The college that I attend, Queens College, does not offer journalism as a major (it is offered as a minor), but it offers English, Media Studies, Comparative Literature and Political Science. What is the best combination of majors/minors that I could use to pursue an editing career? I thought maybe a double major in English/Comparative Literature with a minor in Journalism, or maybe just a major in English with a double minor in Journalism and Media Studies. I am a pretty strong student in Political Science, English and Comparative Literature, but I've yet to take a Media Studies class. I also have another dilemma. I looked at all the class descriptions for these majors/minors and they all lean to either creative writing, writing articles, and improving my reading skills, but there isn't really anything that sticks out as something that teaches grammar, sentence structure, or editing skills. For the most part, the names of the courses offered are "Literary Study of _______" or "Introduction to Poetry/Shakespeare/Creative Writing/News Reporting." Am I expected to teach myself perfect grammar on my own, or will it be taught to me over time in my classes or as an intern/entry level employee? I have a copy of "The Elements Of Style", but I honestly am having some difficulty understanding it (and staying awake while reading it). Do you know of any simpler, more introductory level & more exciting books to help me out? My grammar is pretty above-average for my age, but its not fine tuned. So far I've joined the school paper and I've had a couple articles submitted. As of now, I'm planning on first getting a BA in English