Help getting into a Commercial Credit Analyst position in Minneapolis/Chicago markets?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Chris in Minneapolis, Minnesota

51 months ago

I've been underwriting consumer products for 7 years and small business for 3. I'm well versed in spreading financials, completing a cash-flow, and reading bureaus. For the past couple months I've been applying internally at my current bank but having difficulty getting past initial interviews. The common response is lack of experience in true commercial underwriting? Any ideas on how to overcome this? I have the knowledge and the skills, but hiring mgrs cant get past the no experience with moodys, large dollar, etc.....

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Darren in Sandy, Utah

50 months ago

Unless you have an accounting or finance degree, my guess is that you will have a hard time breaking through. Salary.com says that about 40% of credit analysts have an MBA.

eheidotting in Florence, Kentucky

48 months ago