U.S. National Board exam vs. Canadian National Board Exam. Same or diff?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 161)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

Rhema w in Big Rapids, Michigan

79 months ago

Hey, I am a Canadian citizen that is taking Dental Hygiene in Michigan. I have dual so i decided to write both the board exams for the US and Canada (ontario). Here in Michigan there is also a clinical. I just finished writting the American Written National exam(which was pretty hard and i'm still waiting for the results!) i've already paid for my Canadian exam which i am going to write May 20th. I'm studying the same way as I did for the American one but i can't find any info on whether its different or not? other than the different tooth numbering system thats used in Ontario. has anyone written both exams or knows of any other differences that could help me with studying? THANKYOU!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (30) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

DJL in Toronto, Ontario

79 months ago

I am an Ontario dentist who had the dental training in Michigan. Good for you that you will be taking advantage of both the Canadian and American board examinations. Having the ability to practise on both sides of the border will give you the flexibility and opportunity to choose where you want to work. (I am assuming you are a Canadian student studying in MI).

I am currently teaching dental hygiene at a private college in Toronto, and I have come across other dental hygienist (instructors) who graduated in the US and took the Canadian board. They claimed that the American board (written) was harder than the Canadian, and the American board was more didactic focused, versus Canadian which took a more practical approach. Hope this will help.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

sophia in Vancouver, British Columbia

78 months ago