Do employers discriminate against out-of-state applicants?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Flatulent Elephant in Kent, Washington

73 months ago

Newbie on the forum so I apologize in advance if I'm posting in the wrong section...

I am an environmental professional in the Seattle area & have been out of work for about a year. I want to relocate to the SW but haven't had any luck so far & suspect that part of the problem may be that employers are seeing my address & blowing me off b/c they fear I may demand relocation assistance (I won't, I promise!). I have applied for lots of jobs in CA, UT, AZ, & NM...& have only had a few phone interviews that led nowhere. I recently began applying locally but still no luck.

Anyone else on here have issues regarding looking for jobs in other states? Any tips/advice? Thanks!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

72 months ago

Anyone???

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

71 months ago

Seriously??? There's no one on here that has suspected that they are being discriminated against b/c of their address?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

enviroscientist in Johnson City, Tennessee

69 months ago

Don't take it personally. You're only one passenger in a very. VERY big boat full of hundreds of thousands of other people in this 'flatlined' economy. These days employers discriminate against EVERYONE they don't already know and/or who doesn't already have a job in the same field with years of experience. If they aren't then be very suspicious of the job they're offering. If there advertising for a job vacancy these days...there's something wrong with it.