Wanted to switch careers....already! Accountant to Event Planning

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

topchef33 in Portage, Indiana

76 months ago

I graduated about 8 months ago from college with a business degree and an accounting concentration. It has been so hard to find a job as an entry level accountant(still haven't!). The more I think about it, the more I wonder why I wasted all that time in school getting a degree in something that I'm not 100% in love with.

I would LOVE to get into the event planning business. Especially weddings. I have no idea how to get started though. I love to help out family whenever there is a big get together or event. I am in NW Indiana right now, but may possibly be moving to Indy soon. Any help on how to get started would be great.

I don't necessarily need to start my own business, I would want to work for a business so that I could get experience. I know I don't have an event management degree, but I'd hope being college educated would get me somewhere!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Danielle Crabb in Walkersville, Maryland

76 months ago

I to am looking into getting in this field of work. I graduated with a psychology degree and can't find a job either. All these places expect you to have all this experience but how do you get that when no one givves you the chance to get it. If you have any luck finding out how to get started in this field of work please let me know. Thanks

Danielle

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

azolly in Salt Lake City, Utah

76 months ago