How to get a job in Events

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

Vianella in Pawtucket, Rhode Island

74 months ago

I have a bachelors degree in Event Management. However I cant get a job in the field. Im not sure how to really start. I have done some functions for family and friends and have volunteered with local organizations and agencies. I am willing to relocate for the job. I was wondering if anyone had an idea where or what website I should check into?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (19) / No (7) Reply - Report abuse

Stephanie in Phoenix, Arizona

74 months ago

What college did you get your degree from? I wasn't aware such a thing existed. How cool!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

vianella in Providence, Rhode Island

74 months ago

Johnson & Wales University.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Kari in Tyler, Texas

74 months ago

I would suggest looking into non-profit organizations. There's Make-a-Wish Foundation, Cystic Fibrosis, Race for the Cure, or maybe some local organization. From my experience, most or all of the non-profit organizations have committees that help plan the events. I know Race for the Cure does, and the organization I work for does. I'm employeed by a non-profit organization and we have a committee that helps with our golf tournaments. Also, when I was trying to get into the industry, I called every event planner, party planner, caterer, wedding planner, and party rental place in the phone book. What I found is that some of the planners have interns that work with them for a semester to get experience. I don't know if it's paid, but you'll get your name out there. And you might be able to start your own business after you learn what to do. I hope this was helpful!

Vianella in Pawtucket, Rhode Island

74 months ago

THANK YOU SO MUCH KARI!!! I WILL SURELY DO THAT!

KS in Maricopa, Arizona

74 months ago