Finding work 12 years after college

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Theresa in Ephrata, Washington

87 months ago

Its been 12 years since I graduated with a BA in Geology. Due to personal reasons I did not continue my education and was not able to find work in geology. I still desire to work as a geologist but feel, due to no work experience and the length of time out of school, I am not very employable. What is the best way to get back into the game?????

Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Linda Johnson in Fremont, California

86 months ago

Theresa in Ephrata, Washington said: Its been 12 years since I graduated with a BA in Geology. Due to personal reasons I did not continue my education and was not able to find work in geology. I still desire to work as a geologist but feel, due to no work experience and the length of time out of school, I am not very employable. What is the best way to get back into the game?????

Thanks!

I am no expert, but I would encourage you to just go for it! Apply for entry-level positions or any you feel qualified for. My mother got a degree in journalism, had eight children, then went to work in her thirties and became a leading journalist in my home-town! You need no apologies for your personal reasons. You are probably around 30 and probably look 20. Employers see young people as 20'2-30's. Your interest in geology has continued, so your education is still valuable. You can bring yourself up to date by reading geology journals at a good library. The internet did not exist when I graduated 20 years ago, but it is an AMAZING job hunting tool. You can lok at so many jobs and find out what interests you the most. You can choose anywhere you want to work in the US or world! Or, you can stay where you are and have plenty of opportunity. GO FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse