I need help/answers from actual geologists

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

geologist_major1113 in Chattanooga, Tennessee

46 months ago

I've always had a great interest in the Earth and learning about all of its processes. I'm majoring in geology. I've heard many different things about the best way to become a great geologist, but I need some straight answers. Do I need a PhD? What kinds of jobs could I get with a masters? Could I get better jobs with a PhD (not higher paying, i mean more interesting). I know I have to have a PhD to do research, or so I've heard. What is the best field to go into in geology? Help?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

BN97201 in Portland, Oregon

35 months ago

geologist_major1113 in Chattanooga, Tennessee said: I've always had a great interest in the Earth and learning about all of its processes. I'm majoring in geology. I've heard many different things about the best way to become a great geologist, but I need some straight answers. Do I need a PhD? What kinds of jobs could I get with a masters? Could I get better jobs with a PhD (not higher paying, i mean more interesting). I know I have to have a PhD to do research, or so I've heard. What is the best field to go into in geology? Help?

It depends on what you want to do. In some fields such as environmental consulting, having a Ph.D. is not necessary and may even be a detriment, as those with Ph.D. degrees sometimes are viewed as being "too academic" and not practical enough. Unless you're pursuing certain career paths (academia, USGS, perhaps certain petroleum industry positions) a Master's is all you'll need.