Took the SPHR exam yesterday and FAILED but.....

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (25)

Barbie in Pompano Beach, Florida

52 months ago

I listened to the distinctive HR series by David Siler and one of his helpful tips was to register for both exams and if you don’t pass the SPHR, you have another chance of taking the PHR in the same window.
I have only 5 years of recruiting and about 1 year performance management experience so I know I was ultimately not ready for the SPHR. The only reason I qualified to register was because I have an MBA. Well I took the SPHR yesterday and didn't pass. I was in no way discouraged because my online testing for the past couple of weeks was an average of 59-60%-(my score on strategic management was the lowest. I had higher scores on the rest). I took the exam for the experience and to better prepare me for the PHR which I will be taking at the end of June.
My PHR score now is averaging 75% for the sample tests and I believe will get better since all I am doing now is just taking practice tests. Materials I am using are: SHRM Learning system, Anne Bogardus and Distictive HR Audio CD’s (I Listened to it on my way to the test and I have to tell you that some of the topics he talked about on the audio CD came out on the test)
I will tell you that I felt the SPHR was 70% difficult and 30% not too difficult.

Questions that came up were:

-Definition of Third country national:
-Definition of divestiture
-Mergers & acquisitions
-Reengineering versus restructuring
-Two questions on environmental scanning
-Organizational life cycles (especially on the growth/maturity stage)
-Organizational values versus organizational philosophy
-Total Quality Management
-Scenarios on zero based budgeting (very tricky question)
-Two questions on situational theories
-Lots and lots and lots of organization development/management questions