Why it's so hard to move to a different industry?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

kingfish in College Point, New York

60 months ago

I have been working in internal audit area for the past 10 years, three of which as an internal audit manager. I have served clients in almost all types of industries except financial services and insurance.

I have been trying to get into the financial services in the past couple of years. I told every recruiter that's willing to listen that I don't mind joining a financial service company as a senior or even staff internal auditor. I am also willing to lower my comp expectation.

However, so far I couldn't even get an interview not to mention a job offer.

Can anyone share some insight on why it's so difficult? Is the financial industry more difficult to audit than any other industries, therefore need more deep specialty knowledge and experience?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Experienced Auditor

58 months ago

kingfish in College Point, New York said: I have been working in internal audit area for the past 10 years, three of which as an internal audit manager. I have served clients in almost all types of industries except financial services and insurance.

I have been trying to get into the financial services in the past couple of years. I told every recruiter that's willing to listen that I don't mind joining a financial service company as a senior or even staff internal auditor. I am also willing to lower my comp expectation.

However, so far I couldn't even get an interview not to mention a job offer.

Can anyone share some insight on why it's so difficult? Is the financial industry more difficult to audit than any other industries, therefore need more deep specialty knowledge and experience?

Financial institutions are very easy to audit. Their audit departments are usually very well organized and the audit programs don't change very much.