Kindergarten Job Share

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (12)

Seajay in Bainbridge Island, Washington

90 months ago

The general consensus around here is that job sharing is fine for grades 2 and above, but not OK for Kindergarten. Do you have any thoughts for me to share with the school administration to convince them that it can work successfully at the K level?

Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Katrina in Ypsilanti, Michigan

87 months ago

I have been job-sharing for two years now at the K level. It has been a great success. The students become adjusted to both teachers. It is quite easy for them because they have had little school expereince prior to kindergarten, therefore two teachers is normal. Plus, the students recieve a teacher who is fresh and ready to go everyday of the week, no burn-out.
Anyway, it has worked out well for me. Good Luck.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

KP in Kelseyville, California

82 months ago

I have job shared in K as well. My first experience was disasterous as the other teacher did not want me as her partner but the principal did. My partner could not let go of her anger at not getting the partner she wanted and proceeded to make my time at school hell. In contrast, I have begun a new K job share with a teacher who is caring and wonderful and has turned into a close friend. I teach MTW and she teaches TH F. We keep a communication log and call each other, do conferences together and back to school nights, etc. If you have a conscientious professional partner it is a wonderful way to go. I just met two teachers who job shared in K for 20 years. They both had small children at the time, as my teaching partner and I do, and it was a positive experience for them and their students. I am surprised that your district does not think K is a good place for a job share because in reality it is the perfect place.