JOBS FOR NURSES IN RECOVERY

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (101 to 148 of 148)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3   

Kay in South Haven, Michigan

25 months ago

Becca in Atlanta, Georgia said: Sounds like you never should have gotten into it in the first place...let me guess...reasonable pay and recession proof were your driving motivators, right?

Perhaps you are right. I've wondered. However, I wanted nursing. I love nursing. And with the exception of being sick, I am a damn good nurse. I do belong in the profession. I never, ever had a drug or alcohol problem until 5 years ago at the age of 37. I had been a successful RN for several years. This alcoholism (drug of choice but did divert Dilaudid and Fentanyl about 10 times) really snuck up on me). I'm certain any "true" addict/alcoholic would understand that drugs and alcohol are, as AA says, "cunning, baffling, powerful...without help it is too much for us.." I am (and have been) clean for some time. I use AA (I am a believer), weekly, individual sessions, my family physician and an addictionist. I've been in treatment 4 times. I am certainly not bragging about that. It sucks and I never want to go back. Nevertheless, I have learned A LOT about the disease. I really didn't know how to take your comment. An earlier one made me feel like one of looking down their nose at me and kinda hurt. I'd like to hear from people who understand and are kind. I am NOT looking for sympathy. Regardless of being an alcoholic/addict I completely understand I am responsible for my actions!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

25 months ago

I am still looking for people with insight and interest who would be interested in creating an organization for the education and support of health care professionals with drug and alcohol problems. If anyone knows of such a person, contact me! I'd love a partner or two or two thousand!